FastDrop - Fast Fiber-based Droplet Analysis of Microorganisms

Microorganisms harbour great potential to generate substances that can be used against pathogens. The project FastDrop aims at exploiting this potential with the help of novel fiber-based microfluidic technologies. Under standard laboratory culture conditions for microorganisms, many parameters need to be considered. Recent developments in optical fiber technology in combination with advances in microfabrication and system integration allow completely new experimental possibilities. The culture and sample throughput that can be analysed is increased several fold while at the same time the required time and costs are reduced. Thus, the hunt for novel active compound is made more rapid and efficient.

Participating Scientists

Dr. Martin Roth

Dr. Martin Roth

Projektkoordinator 

HKI • Biotechnikum

martin.roth@leibniz-hki.de

Dr. Erik Beckert

Dr. Erik Beckert

Principal Investigator

IOF

erik.beckert@iof.fraunhofer.de

Tobias Meyer

Tobias Meyer

Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter

IPHT

tobias.meyer@leibniz-ipht.de

Dr. Sven Schröder

Dr. Sven Schröder

Principal Investigator

IOF

sven.schroeder@iof.fraunhofer.de

Dr. Oksana Shvydkiv

Dr. Oksana Shvydkiv

Principal Investigator

HKI • Biotechnikum

oksana.shvykdiv@leibniz-hki.de

Sundar Hengoju

Sundar Hengoju

Promovierender

HKI • Biotechnikum

sundar.hengoju@leibniz-hki.de

Karl-Benjamin Suttner

Karl-Benjamin Suttner

Promovierender

IPHT

karl-benjamin.suttner@leibniz-ipht.de

Shulin Wohlfeil

Shulin Wohlfeil

Promovierende

IOF

shulin.wohlfeil@iof.fraunhofer.de

Mahipal Choudhary

Dr. Mahipal Choudhary

Ingenieur

HKI • Biotechnikum 

mahipal.choudhary@leibniz-hki.de