The LSC InfectoOptics has been established around the two Leibniz Institutes HKI and IPHT with their expertise in infection biology and photonic technologies. It further strengthens the close collaboration of the two institutes with the Friedrich Schiller University and other research institutions in Jena. The Leibniz ScienceCampi are an instrument of the Leibniz Association to promote the cooperation on an equal footing between Leibniz institutions and universities in the form of thematically-focused, complementary regional partnerships. The objective is to create networks to drive the respective research field and to strengthen the scientific environment for the relevant themes.

At the LSC InfectoOptics, junior scientists carry out interdisciplinary research projects. They are embedded into the lively and communicative scientific network in Jena and enrich the Jena School for Microbial Communication (JSMC).

Executive Board

Prof. Dr. Marc Thilo Figge
Leibniz Institute for Natural Product Research and Infection Biology – Hans Knöll Institute
Prof. Dr. Jürgen Popp Leibniz Institute of Photonic Technology
Prof. Dr. Erika Kothe Friedrich Schiller University Jena
Prof. Dr. Andreas Tünnermann Fraunhofer Institute for Applied Optics and Precision Engineering

Scientific Advisory Board

The Scientific Advisory Board consisting of scientists who monitor the work of the LSC InfectoOptics as external experts and give advice on the scientific focus. The members of the Scientific Advisory Board are experts in the fields of optics and photonics, infection biology and clinical research.

Dr. Michael Apel Miltenyi Biotec GmbH
Dominik Driesch BioControl Jena GmbH
Prof. Dr. Heinz Fehrenbach Research Center Borstel
Prof. Dr. Matthias Gunzer University of Duisburg-Essen
Dr. Roland Kilper aura optik GmbH Jena
Prof. Dr. Katja Schenke-Layland University of Tübingen
Prof. Dr. Joachim Selbig University of Potsdam

Scientific Coordination

Dr. Sina Gerbach Leibniz Institute for Natural Product Research and Infection Biology – Hans Knöll Institute